The Codex
The Codex
Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: November 9th 2007

The Codex is a brand new project from Mark Boals (Yngwie Malmsteen, Ring of Fire) and Magnus Karlsson (Midnight Sun, Last Tribe, Starbreaker, Allen/Lande). The Codex are completed by Linus Abrahamson on bass and Daniel Flores (Mindís Eye) on drums.


Every fan of the Melodic side of Metal should take notice because this album from The Codex should definitely belong in your CD-collection, thatís for sure. Then again I must admit that I was quite disappointed with it at first... but after, maybe 3 or 4 listens later it began to open up to me and now I like it a lot. Itís convincing from beginning to end!


The promo-CD that Iím holding in my hands contains 12 tracks. 12 tracks of first class Melodic Metal with gripping hooks, catchy melodies, great vocals and splendid guitar solos... DAMN... Magnus Karlsson really know his way around his instrument. The music is close to above mentioned bands... but also to Jorn Landes solo albums and the Tony O'Hora release... itís compact and powerful.


12 tracks and almost 70 minutes of first class Melodic Metal and one thing is for sure; The name

Magnus Karlsson is a name every fan of Hard Rock and Metal should know by now. Thereís no

way around him anymore and thereís no way around this Melodic Metal jewel called The Codex.


01. Beyond the Dark
02. Raise Your Hands
03. Toxic Kiss
04. Bring Down the Moon
05. Running Out of Hate
06. Dream Makers
07. Whole Again
08. Mistress of Death
09. Mystery
10. Prisoner
11. You Can Have it All
12. Garden of Grief
Label: Frontiers Records
Provided by: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier / Amigo (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: November 25th 2007