The Inner Sanctum
Style: Saxon
Release date: March 5th 2007

New wave of British heavy metal heroes Saxon are back with their 16th studio album ‘The Inner Sanctum’, and Biff Byford, Paul Quinn and the rest of the gang kicks off right where the last album ‘Lionheart’ from 2004 left us.


They started out as Son Of A Bitch back in 1976 but changed the name to Saxon a couple of years later, the debut album ‘Saxon’ was released in 1979 and now almost thirty years later they still kicks ass.


‘The Inner Sanctum’ comes with ten tracks one of them “Atila the Hun” are over eight minutes long and is probably the best tune Saxon has delivered in several years, and together with the traditional “Going Nowhere Fast” and the speedy “Let me feel your Power” makes ‘The Inner Sanctum’ one hell of an album.


Saxon has done everything right this time around: Great songs, great cover artwork, and a great production by Biff Byford and Charlie Bauerfeind.


If you hurry up and buy the limited edition of ‘The Inner Sanctum’ you will also get a ten track DVD.



Label: Steamhammer
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Jørgen Ditlev
Date: May 14th 2007