Rob Rock
Garden of Chaos
Style: Power Metal
Release date: September 21st 2007

The previous album from Rob Rock 'Holy Hell' didn't do much for me, and went under in the massive flow of power metal releases, and my initial listens went pretty much in the same direction. However the album sounded more rounded and more mature, so I gave it a few spins more in my much tested CD-player, a wise decision in retrospect.

Rob Rock is one of the most underrated vocalists in metal, and his vocal signature makes many of the albums he has worked on in the past a special experience. He has been a part of such various bands as Axel Rudi Pell, M.A.R.S., Impellitteri, Warrior and Joshua, and he has been pursuing a solo-career since 2000, 'Garden of Chaos' is his fourth solo album.

On 'Garden of Chaos' he is supported by the whole Narnia line-up (singer excluded) on most of the album; Bobby Jarzombek is playing drums on "This Time is the Last Time". Rob wrote 7 of the 11 tracks (including the Japanese bonus track 'Ride the Wind') with long-time partner Roy Z, who is also handling the production of 2 of the songs. The title track was co-written by Rob with Gus G. (Firewind), while the rest was written together with CJ Grimmark, Bob Rossi, and Liza Rock. Rob and CJ Grimmark took care of the production of the rest of the songs, and they went to Denmark to the Hansen Studios and Jacob Hansen for the mixing and mastering process.

Like everything CJ Grimmark is involved in, this is guitar-driven power metal with balls and paired with Rob's unique voice it results in a very European sounding power metal album with a few splashes of thrash metal. The general feel in harder and faster, with plenty of room for catchy choruses and brilliant guitar leads from CJ Grimmark.

The album is straight ahead, fast and furious for most parts, before things slows down at the end with the two closing ballads, which also happens to be the songs that falls into the category fillers. Two fine ballads, but really nothing special compared with the level the first eight songs bring to the table.

'Garden of Chaos' is a fine, well produced, played and very well sung first class power metal album, one which should have no problems convincing even the hardest doubters.

Good one!

01. Garden of Chaos
02. Satan's Playground
03. Savior's Call
04. This Time is the Last Time
05. Only a Matter of Time
06. Spirit in the Sky
07. Metal Breed
08. Millenial Reign
09. Unconditional
10. Ode to Alexander
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: December 8th 2007