Ride The Sky
New Protection
Style: Melodic Power Metal
Release date: August 24th 2007

RIDE THE SKY features members known from bands such as; Masterplan, Tears of Agony,

Dionysus among others and they stand for first class Melodic Power Metal with AOR, and

Progressive elements.

I was totally knocked out of my socks when I first threw their debut album “New Protection” in

my hard-tried CD-player. Most of all because this album is f*****g catchy but also because this

album is packed with memorable guitar riffs, awesome choruses and fantastic musicianship.


Their music reminds me of bands like At Vance, Masterplan and Edguy peppered with

orchestral arrangements. We get 12 tracks of first class and very Melodic Metal here.

The limited edition contains a bonus track called “Make the Spirit Burn” and the Japanese

release contains a bonus track called “Trail of Fame”, and I’m sure that the bonus tracks are

worth your hard earned money too.


I can listen to this album over and over again and I just can’t get the choruses out of my mind.

I find myself humming their songs in the middle of the streets and I’m sure that this album is a

must for every genre-lover.

They are bombastic and very melodic but at the same time heavy and stands for an energy and spirit of a band surely destined for bigger and better things.


The production is crystal clear and powerful and the cover artwork done by Thomas Ewerhard is

great too... so make sure that you get this album as soon as it’s released in August. You won’t be disappointed if you’re a genre-fan. Heck... buy 5 and spread it amongst your friends.

Label: Nuclear Blast
Distribution: VME (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 85/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: July 19th 2007
Website: www.ridethesky.eu