Lana Lane
Red Planet Boulevard
Style: Symphonic Hard Rock
Release date: December 7th 2007

With Lana Lane you pretty much know what to expect when you put on a disc! And stylistic we are flying on the airwaves we've flown so many times before with Lana; well written, produced and played Symphonic Hard Rock.

Working within the boundaries she and her partner Erik Norlander have worked within since the beginning, they have created an atmospheric melodic rock album, one which shows a band that is experienced and skilled in their craft and a vocalist, who is at the top of her game. 'Red Planet Boulevard' has all of the trademarks, which have been a big part of the sound of the band for the past twelve years dating back to the beginning that started with 'Love is an Illusion' in 1995, and this is the best and most complete Lana Lane album since 'Secrets of Astrology' (2000).

On one hand I find it a bit frustrating that they don't try to break out of the mould more than they do, and on the other hand I find the conservative approach good. It's not like they are repeating themselves, and they have moved on and are introducing new sounds and ideas, but they won't surprise you one bit because they fit perfectly into the sound and style.

One of the better Lana Lane albums, with Lana in top shape supported by a very tight band is what I end up with. An album that fans of hers can put on with no fear of being thrown into frustration and an album that delivers what it promises nothing more, nothing less...

01. Into the Fire
02. The Frozen Sea
03. Capture the Sun
04. Jessica
05. Stepford, USA
06. Shine
07. Lazy Summer Day
08. No Tears Left
09. Save the World
10. Angels and Magicians
11. The Sheltering Sorrow
12. Red Planet Boulevard
Label: Frontiers Records
Provided by: Zink Music
Distribution: Bonnier / Amigo (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: November 18th 2007