Style: Extreme Progressive Metal
Release date: February 11th 2008

Well... I must admit that I only knew Biomechanical by name but I have heard a lot of good things about their debut album “Eight Moons” (2002) and “The Empires of the World” (2005)... so was eager to check them out. I can only say that I’m stunned. I’m sitting here listening to their brand new album entitled “Cannibalised” and I can’t seem to get enough of it. It has rarely left my CD-player since I received this promo-CD.


First time I threw this album in my CD-player I was knocked right out of my socks... so I instantly ordered their 2005 release “The Empires of the World” to check them out even further... and it’s also fucking great. - And I only knew them by name??? – Shame on me... shame on me!!!


The promo-CD that I’m holding in my hands contains 10 tracks... 10 awesome tracks with a splendid production. Crystal clear and powerful. This is... to put it simple... the best Progressive-Extreme-Schizophrenic-Metal album that I’ve ever heard. Just mix bands like Strapping Young Lad, Devin Townsend, Nevermore, Meshuggah, and Judas Priest (because of the Rob Halford-like vocals) with a Death/Thrash Metal band and you have a pretty good idea of the style and sound of Biomechanical.


Every single of the 10 tracks are more than great and I discover new things with every listen. We get very aggressive drumming, earth shattering guitar runs, kick-ass guitar solos, aggressive

vocals and speed... and I really mean SPEED. This is first class “controlled chaos”... period. Every time I reach the end of this CD... I press play once again... I can listen to “Cannibalised” over and over again. I’m just totally overwhelmed by the force and varied sound of this album, even though it sounds a tad chaotic at times... but it is controlled chaos, as written above. But now you have to excuse me because I have to order their debut album as well.


This album is a MUST BUY for every fan of Extreme Progressive Metal. The only thing that really annoys me about this promo-CD is that, this is a “Bleeped Promo. 2 times in every track you’re stressed with a high and REALLY annoying tone. DAMN! I do think that the record company, Earache records owes me a clean CD without the annoying tone. LOL!!!


Recommended tracks: All of them!

01. Fallen in Fear
02. The Unseen
03. Cannibalised
04. Breathing Silence
05. Predatory
06. Slow the Poison
07. Consumed
08. Reborn in Damnation
09. Through Hated Arise
10. Violent Descent
Label: Earache Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 78/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: December 1st 2007