Style: Wannabe Nightwish metal
Release date: November 16th 2007

I was rather impressed by Atargatis’ ‘Wasteland’ CD from last year and saw it as a good alternative to Nightwish.

The problem with the band’s new release, Nova, is that it fails to impress entirely. It fails, in my view, in terms of the quality of the song writing as well as production. Moreover, the male vocal of Lord Lornhold (?) is for the most part downright terrible, starting out with the first proper track, Ebon Queen. It spoils the experience of the lovely Stephanie Luzie's fine and characteristic voice and the hints at hit potential as for example in the tune Firebird.

The occasional hints of great musicianship that do occur are just not enough to make this release really relevant.

A shame really.


01. Intro (Balance)
02. Ebon Queen
03. Frozen Innocence Riven
04. Stars are Falling
05. Crucified
06. Green Lakes Ground
07. Fever of Temptation
08. When the Ice breaks
09. The Marching of the Fey
10. Firebird
11. Deliverance
Label: Massacre Records
Provided by: Brook-Lyn Promotion / Target
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: November 21st 2007