At Vance
Style: Melodic Power Metal
Release date: June 29th 2007

‘VII’ is the seventh studio album by German Power Metal band At Vance (album number eight if you count the ‘Centers’ album with).


The line-up carousel has turned once again super vocalist Mats Levén has been replaced by former Treasure Land vocalist Rick Altzi.


After nine years of existence and several excellent albums At Vance still manages to create some superb tunes, like “Breaking the Night” a neo-classical masterpiece and “Golden Leaves” a melodic speed metal hammer. But besides these two songs At Vance are just repeating themselves, everything are well performed and new boy Rick Altzi is a great replacement for Mats Levén, but when the last song of the CD “Lost in Your Love” fades out there’s no way I would press the repeat button.


I can surely live without ‘VII’; instead I will listen to some of the old stuff, like ‘Dragonchaser’ or ‘Only Human’.

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Jørgen Ditlev
Date: August 16th 2007