Style: Experimental/Progressive Psycho-Industrial-Death-Gothic..and more...Metal
Release date: October 8th 2007

I hadn’t heard about these Australians before this promo was in the mail, but it turns out, that this is their sixth album. Apparently at least one of their their previous record companies had so lousy promotion, that some of their earlier albums practically stayed a secret outside Australia. Their previous studio album is three, four years old, so this new one was a long time in the making.

Now, down to business: I really had some severe difficulties with how to review this album.


First, it really pisses me off (!) with these promos that are divided into 99 tracks (to avoid copying I guess), ‘cos if I play them on my stereo or in the car, I don’t know what number on the album it is…but this is of course not the bands fault, so I won’t hold it against them.


Second, and more important, the music: This is a really heavy bombardment and a sheer broad wall of sound, thrilling and tiresome (in the long run) at the same time. Moreover, it’s very difficult to put into a labelled box of a certain style. There’s general atmospheric industrial sound together with staccato drums (sometimes resembling Ministry), a lot of progressive elements, melodeath/hardcore-like screaming vocals, and guitars reminding me very much of Killing Joke in sound and riffs. One riff-wall with generally very open chords, driving drums and underlying spherical keyboards comes after another in a relentless outburst and pounding of energy. What set the numbers apart on this album are the smaller differences in details, and that makes it a subject for advanced listeners of progressive metal with numerous influences.


If you’re into some of the above mentioned styles or bands, try this out, but be prepared…This is not in any matter easy listening! It hasn't quite taken me by storm (yet at least).


Very cool cover by the way - nice artwork and it really fits the music.

Recommended tracks: my personal favourite is Anticipation of a High that to me sounds like the best of Killing Joke (on speed).

01. Wrapped in Guilt
02. Tongues & Knives
03. Nothing in no Time
04. Anticipation of a High
05. Grasp at Air
06. Communic Hate
07. Substance for Shadow
08. God Shaped Hole
09. Degenerative Breeding
Label: Relapse Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 90/100
Reviewed by: Claus Melsen
Date: November 27th 2007