Sólstafir release third new track and 10″ vinyl via Roadburn

SÓLSTAFIR are now premiering the third song taken from their forthcoming sixth full-length. The new masterpiece of the enigmatic Icelanders is entitled ‘Berdreyminn’, which means a “dreamer of forthcoming events” and will be released on May 26th.The track “Silfur-Refur” is now exclusively streaming worldwide via Roadburn Festival, where a limited edition 10″ vinyl version in two variants will be made available exclusively at the official during this weekend. Any remaining stock will be made available through the Season of Mist shop after the event. “Silfur-Refur” is now streaming at the link below.


“Silfur-Refur” will be available on the A-side of the Roadburn 10″ single as a black version limited to 400 copies and blue vinyl limited to 300 copies (both 45 rpm). The exclusive B-side “Scorpion Moonrise” is graced by a guest-appearance of HEXVESSEL and former BEASTMILK vocalist Mat “Kvohst” McNerney, who also wrote the lyrics. Frontman Aðalbjörn “Addi” Tryggvason comments: “The song ‘Silfur-Refur’ revolves around having a sick ghost version of yourself taking control of your life. You resist with all you have, but you simply don’t stand a chance. It travels with you all the time, asleep or awake. The song was written in a few parts – with the intro being one of them. We knew right away that this would be the opener of the album.”

The singer also adds a few words about the B-side: “The other track, ‘Scorpion Moonrise’ was written in only one day, on which we also recorded the demo. The moment, the opening riff kicked in, I already pictured Mat singing it since the riff reminded me so much of HEXVESSEL – as in their powerful live performances that we have witnessed many times while touring with them. As we are good friends and have followed Mat’s career in VOID, CODE, DHG, HEXVESSEL, BEASTMILK, and GRAVE PLEASURES, we all agreed that he would be the perfect guy to lay down his vocals on it. We just love the result and he made the song into what it is today. It’s also nice to hear a bit of English again in SÓLSTAFIR as we have used that language in the past – and also continue our tradition of occasionally inviting guest singers.”

Roadburn Festival has furthermore announced two exclusive listening sessions, where the forthcoming album ‘Berdreyminn’ can be heard in full on Thursday and Sunday each at 16:00 CEST. Aðalbjörn “Addi” Tryggvason will be present to personally introduce the album at the Thursday session.Important note! The cover art of the ‘Silfur-Refur’ 10″ single can be viewed below.


Cover art by Adam Burke and track-list of ‘Berdreyminn’ are shown below.




1. Silfur-Refur (6:54)

2. Ísafold (4:59)

3. Hula (7:07)

4. Nárós (7:23)

5. Hvít Sæng (7:22)

6. Dýrafjörður (7:32)

7. Ambátt (8:08)

8. Bláfjall (8:00)






SÓLSTAFIR have previously announced their first European tour in support of their forthcoming full-length ‘Beyrdreyminn’ (out May 26th) in June. The tour will kick off at the Download Festival in Paris on June 10th and afterwards the enigmatic Icelandic rockers will continue to perform in England, the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, and France before a final show at the Spanish edition of Download in Madrid on the 24th of June.

SÓLSTAFIR commented on the tour: “We are stoked to be back on the road and doing up ‘n close personal club shows between summer festivals. Some of the small venues are expected to sell out fast – so better get your ticket right away.”

A list of all currently confirmed shows including festival appearances can be viewed below.




10 Jun 17 Paris (FR) Download Festival

11 Jun 17 Brighton (UK) The Haunt

12 Jun 17 Colchester (UK) Arts Centre

13 Jun 17 Leeds (UK) Brudenell Social Club

14 Jun 17 London (UK) Old Blue Last

15 Jun 17 Breda (NL) Mezz

16 Jun 17 Dessel (BE) Graspop Metal Meeting

17 Jun 17 Utrecht (NL) Tivoli de Helling

18 Jun 17 Hannover (DE) Musikzentrum

19 Jun 17 Dresden (DE) Beatpol

20 Jun 17 Karlsruhe (DE) Jubez

21 Jun 17 Colmar (FR) Fete de la Musique

22 Jun 17 Lyon (FR) CCO Villeurbanne

23 Jun 17 Toulouse (FR) Rex

24 Jun 17 Madrid (ES) Download Festival

SÓLSTAFIR festivals

07 Jul 17 Neskaupstaður (IS) Eistnaflug Festival (exact date tba)

28 Jul 17 Balve (DE) Balver Höhle (Prophecy Fest 2017)

29 Jul 17 Neuensee bei Lichtenfels (DE) Rock im Wald

11 Aug 17 Rasnov (RO) Rockstadt Extreme Fest 2017 (exact date tba)

18 Aug 17 Borre (NO) Midgardsblot Festival 2017 (exact date tba)




Music will always be inspired by the environment in which it is created. With its incredible array of highly diverse landscapes ranging from white glaciers via volcanic bizarreness, moss-green bubble-fields, deep fjords, and frost-cracked mountains to black beaches, Iceland has shaped a host of astonishingly original and fiercely individual bands such as SIGUR RÓS, BJÖRK, and SÓLSTAFIR. SÓLSTAFIR embody the ever-turning wheel of seasons with their shifting light, darkness, and colours, extreme Northern climate, the stark contrasts, the closeness of beauty and deadly forces of nature, the impressive sceneries that have the bones of ancient gods enshrined in them like hardly any other band in every aspect of their existence. SÓLSTAFIR are not like any other band. Their latest album, ‘Berdreyminn’ underscores this statement. As its title “a dreamer of forthcoming events” aptly describes, the four Icelanders have taken their already impressive evolution one step further. The band has continued to amalgamate haunting melodies, psychedelic phases, as well as strong undercurrents of classic rock and hard rock with echoes of their metal past. Yet SÓLSTAFIR’s focus is not on style but pure emotion. ‘Berdreyminn’ is eclectic by a conscious choice to make feelings audible and transform taste as well as texture to sound. Genre borders are not broken but simply ignored. Musical influences are gathered from a wide range of sources, re-arranged, and woven into new patterns.  Melancholy, longing, anger, joy, pleasure, pain, and other emotions are fulling this album.  Despite leaning clearly towards an expression that can be described as rock today, SÓLSTAFIR have their roots in metal as their debut full-length ‘Í Blóði og Anda’ (2002), which translates as “In Blood and Spirit” still witnesses.

Instead of today’s Icelandic gravel throated siren chants, frontman Aðalbjörn Tryggvason spat forth vitriolic crusty vocals and all strings were forged with black metal. Already their next albums ‘Masterpiece of Bitterness’ (2005) and ‘Köld’ (2009) marked stations of a continuous evolution. SÓLSTAFIR went further along their solitary path and obviously left any categorising box with the ground-breaking follow-ups ‘Svartir Sandar’ (2011) and ‘Ótta’ (2014), which received high critical acclaim and attracted new fans in equal measure, while managing the difficult feat of keeping most of their earlier following too. SÓLSTAFIR have set sails to new horizons with ‘Berdreyminn’. Yet the Icelanders brought their home with them and the silhouette of their vessels remains easily recognisable. Welcome aboard on a new adventurous musical journey into uncharted territories.




Aðalbjörn Tryggvason: guitar, vocals

Svavar Austmann: bass

Sæþór Maríus Sæþórsson: guitar

Hallgrímur Jón Hallgrímsson: drums, backing vocals

Guest musicians

Brass, strings, and piano across the tracks Recording: Sundlaugin Studio (IS), Birgir Jón Birgisson & Jaime Gomez Arellano

Mixing: Orgone Studio (UK), Jaime Gomez Arellano

Mastering: Sterling Mastering (US), Ted Jensen

Cover art: Adam Burke


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.