Shining publish complete European tour dates


SHINING have released the full schedule regarding their European shows in autumn 2015.

The Swedes will be eschewing the usual practice of dragging bands on lengthy tours through several countries in favour of shorter runs on a country-by-country basis.

During this period SHINING will visit a total of nine countries in support of their critically acclaimed ninth full-length album ‘IX – Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends’.  A special double gatefold edition of the album in black and white marble vinyl strictly limited to 300 copies will be available for sale exclusively on the tour.  

Frontman and founder Niklas Kvarforth explains the reason behind his band’s decision not to spend long periods of time on the road: “Basically we want to be able to give our audience the best show possible each time we are on stage. Being stuck on a cramped, uncomfortable nightliner with people you don’t even know and no privacy in which to be able to rest and relax for weeks on the road, is not conducive to any of us and particularly myself to be able to always deliver a top performance. Therefore we will definitely not do this. We have furthermore decided that we do not want to be shunted into the usual venues that every tour seems to hit. We rather play better venues with better facilities – not only for ourselves, but also for the audience, wherever possible.”

For interview requests and guest-list, please contact Season of Mist.

A list of all dates can be viewed below.


25 Sep 15 Hultsfred (SE) Mörkaste Småland
26 Sep 15 Malmö (SE) Moriska Paviljongen

16 Oct 15 Venlo (NL) Grenswerk
17 Oct 15 Hasselt (BE) Muziekodroom
18 Oct 15 Hilversum (NL) Krachtstroom XL

05 Nov 15 Roma (IT) Traffic Live
06 Nov 15 Brescia (IT) Circolo Colony
07 Nov 15 Bologna (IT) Alchemica Music Club

12 Nov 15 München (DE) Backstage
13 Nov 15 Stuttgart (DE) Keller Klub
14 Nov 15 Essen (DE) Turock
15 Nov 15 Köln (DE) Underground
17 Nov 15 Wiesbaden (DE) Schlachthof
18 Nov 15 Berlin (DE) Magnet
19 Nov 15 Hamburg (DE) Logo

03 Dec 15 Almassera, Valencia (ES) Sala Rock City
04 Dec 15 Murcia (ES) Sala Garaje Beat Club
05 Dec 15 Madrid (ES) Sala Caracol
06 Dec 15 Barcelona (ES) Sala Boveda
07 Dec 15 Bilbao (ES) Stage Live

11 Dec 15 Moscow (RU) Club Volta
12 Dec 15 St. Petersburg (RU) Club Phoenix


SHINING have previously revealed the first video featuring a track taken from their acclaimed new full-length ‘IX – Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends’.

The brutal imagery “Vilja & Dröm” is following the Swede’s tradition to hold an artistic mirror up to the face of humankind in order to throw its ugly reflection back onto itself: homo homini lupus est. The clip has been directed by Martin Strandberg and can be viewed here:

SHINING are touring in support of their latest full-length ‘IX – Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends’. The album is still available in various formats from the Season of Mist shop: and streaming in full at Bandcamp: here

The cover artwork of ‘IX – Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends’ was created by Daniele Serra. The renowned illustrator is well known for his collaboration with Joe R. Lansdale for the praised graphic novel “I Tell You It’s Love” among numerous other award winning works. Daniele Serra regularly contributes for companies such as Weird Tales Magazine and DC Comics, and is behind the stunning illustrations for the new and already award nominated “Hellraiser: Bestiary” series.

The artwork can be viewed below, along with the tracklist:


1. Den Påtvingade Tvåsamheten
2. Vilja & Dröm
3. Framtidsutsikter
4. Människotankens Vägglösa Rum
5. Inga Broar Kvar Att Bränna
6. Besök Från I(ho)nom
7. Ohne Dich [bonus – Rammstein]
8. Black Industrial Eleven [bonus]

SHINING are more than just a band. In fact each release, every concert and interview becomes a bloody battleground, on which Niklas Kvarforth struggles with his inner demons. The frontman and only remaining original member has never been shy to let the world know about his mental afflictions, which seem to complement or even spark his outstanding talent as a composer and musician. His ninth album, ‘IX – Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends’ is another excellent example of Niklas’ genius. Reaching back to their black metal roots, SHINING simultaneously melt eclectic influences from progressive rock, jazz, even pop and more into deeply emotional laments from the dark side of the soul. Niklas’ vocals come in an even greater variety of expressions which few would suspect in a singer coming from the extreme metal scene. Moments of pain and confusion turn into insane outbursts of anger. Despair shifts into melancholy and an eerie sense of timeless beauty permeates all. Lacking any tolerance for false tuning, technical flaws and lack of ambition, Niklas has literally beaten any weakness out of his band, which demonstrates its remarkable prowess far beyond any average on this record. Founded in 1996 by Kvarforth, SHINING self-released ‘Submit to Self-Destruction’ in 1998 and spawned the term “suicidal black metal” with this debut 7″. A couple years after first full-length ‘I – Within Deep Dark Chambers’ (2000) and sophomore album ‘II – Livets Ändhållplats’ (2001) had cut deep marks into the underground scene, Niklas replaced his whole crew and started a continuous cycle of changing his line-up. With MAYHEM drummer Hellhammer on board, ‘III – Angst’ (2003) and ‘IV – The Eerie Cold’ (2005) began to gather major metal press attention. SHINING then focused on bringing their vision and often controversially received live performances to Europe. Yet Kvarforth’s mental health led to cancelled tours, physical and psychological fights within the band, and finally a break-up. Not content to let things rest after the breakdown, the restless singer returned with new members and the massively successful album ‘V – Halmstad’ (2007). SHINING had reached headliner status and toured with big acts such as SATYRICON and MAYHEM. Several line-up changes later, the Swede once again entered studio and recorded two albums in one session. ‘VI – Klagopsalmer’ was released in 2009 and two years later ‘VII – Född Förlorare’ darkened the light of day. The band also received their first gold disc for the single ‘Förtvivlan, Min Arvedel’ in Sweden. After rotating more musicians in and out, SHINING returned with ‘Redefining Darkness’ (2012) and a less aggressive, yet more sinister sound. Before signing to Season of Mist, the band released the project ‘8 ½ – Feberdrömmar I Vaket Tillstånd’, which featured six of Kvarforth’s favourite vocalists. In August 2014,SHINING entered Andy LaRocque’s Sonic Train Studios to record their ninth album. ‘IX – Everyone, Everything, Everywhere, Ends’ is the sum of Niklas Kvarforth’s musical evolution and experience so far. And while nobody expects the Swede to deliver a record to booze and sing along to, the charged word “art” enters the mind unbidden. This masterpiece should interest lovers of music far beyond the narrow confines of extreme metal. Plug your headphones in and find out for yourself!

Niklas Kvarforth – vocals
Peter Huss – guitars
Euge Valovirta – guitars
Christian Larsson – bass
Rainer Tuomikanto – drums

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.