Rotting Christ premiere double live album in full

Rotting Christ
ROTTING CHRIST┬áare now unleashing the their forthcoming live double album┬áin full. ‘Lucifer Over Athens’┬áhas been scheduled for worldwide release on the 21st of August.┬áThe premiere is┬áexclusively streaming via the official media partners below:

Inferno (FI)
Lords of Metal (NL)
Metal Hammer (DE)
Metal Hammer (NO)
Metal Italia (IT)
Metalpaths (GR)
Metal Underground (USA)
RadioMetal (FR)

Spark (CZ)
Ultraje (PT)

Sakis comments: “We proudly present you this taste of 27 years history of ROTTING CHRIST. Our first ever official live album, ‘Lucifer over Athens’ contains songs from our early demos until our latest releases. Here they are for you on a double album.┬áTurn up the volume and join us in the abyss!”

The Greek legends have already unveiled the fantastic artwork for ‘Lucifer Over Athens’, which has been created by American┬áartist Nurgeslag, who already provided the cover of ROTTING CHRIST‘s latest masterpiece ‘╬Ü╬▒¤ä╬¼ ¤ä╬┐╬¢ ╬┤╬▒╬»╬╝╬┐╬¢╬▒ ╬Á╬▒¤à¤ä╬┐¤ì’ (2013). Cover and tracklist of the live album can be viewed below.

CD 1
1.   6 6 6
2.   Dub-Sag-Ta-Ke
3.   Athanatoi Este
4.┬á┬á┬á╬Ü╬▒¤ä╬¼ ¤ä╬┐╬¢ ╬┤╬▒╬»╬╝╬┐╬¢╬▒ ╬Á╬▒¤à¤ä╬┐¤ì
5.   Nemecic
6.   After Dark I Feel
7.   Sorrowfull Farewell
8.   Among Two Storms
9.   Gloria De Domino Inferni
10.  Feast Of The Grand Whore
11.  The Nereid Of Esgalduin
12.┬á Forest Of N’Gai
13.  The Sign Of Evil Existence
14.  Transform All Sufferings Into Plagues
15.  Fgmenth, Thy Gift
16.  Societas Satanas

CD 2
1.    Demonon Vrosis
2.    Quintessence
3.    The Call Of The Aethyrs
4.┬á┬á┬á In Yumen – Xibalba
5.    Grandis Spiritus Diavolos
6.    Welcome To Hel
7.    King Of A Stellar War
8.    Archon
9.    Exiled Archangels
10.  Dive The Deepest Abyss
11.  The Fourth Knight Of Revelation
12.  The Sign Of Prime Creation
13.  Non Serviam
14.  Enuma Elish
15.  Noctis Era

Sakis comments on ‘Lucifer Over Athens’:┬á”After having been active for 27 years in the metal scene and after playing more than over 1.200 shows in every corner of this planet, we have finally decided to release our first official live album ever! We have worked hard to make this record as rich as possible by including many fan favourites, while paying tribute to all phases of this band at the same time. We will take you back to our demo days and bring you right up to our contemporary creations. This is a live record with a soul. We invite you to a journey into the majestic world of ROTTING CHRIST!”

ROTTING CHRIST have furthermore announced a string of festival dates for 2015. A full list of all confirmed shows can be viewed below:

21 Aug 15 Uckeralm (DE) Burning Alm Festival
22 Aug 15 Spital am Semmering (AT) Kaltenbach Festival
30 Aug 15 Istanbul (TR) Headbangers Weekend Festival
01 Oct 15 Trondheim (NO) Trondheim Metal Fest
ROTTING CHRIST finally release their first official live album. It is nothing but appropriate that a band with a 27 year success story, 12 albums, and more than 1.200 shows under their belts celebrate this event with a double album. ‘Lucifer Over Athens’ was recorded in the Greeks’ hometown in front of a crowd going wild in December 2013. This striking testimony of the veterans’ massive prowess on stage marks a high point in the career of ROTTING CHRIST. With a stable and strong line-up, band leader Sakis confidently marches his phalanx not only to conquer the live audience but also to capture the listener with ‘Lucifer Over Athens’. This grandiose show of force is supported by a gigantic barrage of classics and fan favourites to grace a carefully selected setlist. The Greeks also worked extremely hard on recording and preserving the atmosphere and live sound of the concert for this document. ROTTING CHRIST were founded as early as 1987 by guitarist and vocalist Sakis Tolis together with his brother Themis on drums. They started out playing death/grind, but had already turned to darker paths by the time their debut full-length “Thy Mighty Contract” (1993) was unleashed. On the following seven albums covering a ten year period from ‘Non Serviam’ (1994) to ‘Sanctus Diavolos’ (2004), ROTTING CHRIST steadily refined their style by experimenting with elements from death, heavy and gothic metal without betraying their black roots. At the same time the band went from underground heroes to headliner status. Yet with the highly acclaimed ‘Theogonia’ (2007) the Greek veterans added an unmistakable native element to their sound, which gave their ninth full-length a very distinctive and individual twist. Such a masterpiece can hardly be surpassed, but ROTTING CHRIST held their ground with ‘AEALO’ (2010). Their countryÔÇÖs rich ancient heritage was translated into the universal language of metal with added female choirs, ancient reed pipes as well as folkloristic melodies and rhythms. Their latest masterpiece ‘KATA TON DAIMONA EAYTOY’ (2013) took this musical and lyrical concept another step further, confirming ROTTING CHRIST‘s individual sound incorporating subtle female vocals, piano, bagpipes, horns, and other means. All of these elements are expertly combined and enhanced by excellent songwriting, honed to perfection by long years of experience and the test of constantly performing live. Now ‘Lucifer Over Athens’ comes as a gift that the band made to itself and the multitude of ROTTING CHRIST supporters around the globe, who have been waiting for years to hold a live document such as this in their hands. Time to put the volume on ten, close your eyes and enjoy ‘Lucifer Over Athens’ at home!

Sakis Tolis: vocals, guitars
Themis Tolis: drums
Vangelis Karzis: bass
George Emmanuel: guitars

Style: Dark Metal

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.